ADVERTISEMENT

A "Brief" Summary of CU Class Ranking History

dakphonics

Sophomore
Nov 5, 2010
Norfolk, NE
This is my first time posting in the post MP era of rivals. I've gotten caught up in this talk about hot recruits etc. but because we've never really been in this position to talk consistently about the who's-who of incoming players, I thought I'd find some context for myself. This wasn't easy to do. I've done a lot of looking at our recruiting classes, vs. MVC programs and Big East programs over the last 15 years and I feel like I have a lot of clarity on this issue. And it has really reset my attitude about the whole thing. I think recruiting is important, but the number and stars before and after a name doesn't mean much, and I'll make my case. Starting with a list of the best recruitment classes that we've had since recruiting services started listing them, along with the nationally ranked players that moved the needle enough to award the bluejays a nationally ranked class:

2000 - Unranked
2001 - Unranked
2002 - Unranked
2003 - Unranked
2004 - Unranked
2005 - Unranked
2006 - Class Rank #102 (Issac Miles)
2007 - Class Rank #88 (P'Allen Stinnett)
2008 - Unranked
2009 - Class Rank #147 (Andrew Boch)
2010 - Class Rank #127 (McBuckets)
2011 - Class Rank #103 (Avery Dingman)
2012 - Unranked
2013 - Class Rank #130 (Toby Hegner) (Devin Brooks) (James Miliken)
2014 - Class Rank #45 (Harrell) (Gilmore)
2015 - Class Rank Currently #41 (Patton) (Stewart)

So there are few take-aways from this list.

First off, our best years from a recruiting stand-point have been in the Big East Era, with each year being better than the last.